I've decided to stop using review scores for my blog posts. This is happening for a few reasons; first, this site is no longer a review blog. A review blog is still very technically attached to it, but the Zonelets format that led to the creation of the site has fallen to the wayside now that most of my creative endeavors are being featured on the site in some way.


Additionally, review scores have become less important to me over the past two years that this site has existed. I find myself drawn to reviews that are long, nuanced, and interesting. The review score system created a space where I wanted to make relatively short reviews, feature games that I had already beaten or books I had already read, and tie everything in my work to the score itself. It's not a coincidence that after just a couple of posts, I let the site sit for almost a year and a half. These reviews were fun to write, but they weren't very fun to read. They were my work, but I didn't feel like I had anything important to say.


Without review scores, I can push this blog away from the concept of reviews as a whole and towards media analysis. I can write longer articles that have more meaningful content and not have to connect everything back into a comprehensive Number that represents all that I have to say. And, most importantly, I won't feel like my site is yet another review site among tens of thousands of boring review sites. It will give my site a stronger identity, and connect more closely with my other creative endeavors.


To top things off, new articles are going to be in a slightly different format (as you can see here) to fold in better with the rest of the site. I think it looks quite nice, all things considered.


Anyway, I'll see you next time, without a score. Stay safe out there.